New members of the board and the future of our organization


On April 19, 2021, members of the Democratic Party of the 49th Ward elected a new board of directors. The new leadership of the board brings together the great history of our ward organization as well as the future of our party and reflects the diverse individuality we here in the 49th ward pride ourselves on. 


The new board will immediately undertake a revamping of the organization’s structure and bylaws to update and retool our organization as we emerge from the restrictions of lockdown and contemplate the upcoming campaigns. Our hope is to use our lived experience during our time remote learning and working to find innovative ways to combine remote access to meetings and expand our use of technology in campaigning moving forward. 


As vaccines become more readily available we also hope to restart the things we’ve missed most like sharing a pizza from J.B. Alberto’s at in person meetings and conversing with our neighbors while canvassing our ward.


The members of the board of the Democratic Party of the 49th Ward elected to a 2 year term are:


Re-elected Members:
David Kogan
Stephanie Willis-Bonner
Helen Carlock
John Appel
Mike Jones
Jeff Garceau
Robin McPherson
Wayne Frazier


New Board Members:
Kevin Hough
Maureen Hickey
Jen Walling
Grayson Alexander
Torrence Gardner


Thank you to everyone who expressed an interest in serving and helping to move our organization forward. I’m excited to work with all of you to make our organization better and stronger.


In addition, the organization will be activating a committee structure to better manage the work of the organization and create more opportunities for engagement by members. Committees will include Communications, Endorsements, Judicial Evaluations, Programming, and Fundraising as well as special committees as needed for projects. Watch for an email soon to sign up to work on one of these committees.


As always, thank you for all you do to make our neighborhood the greatest in the city.



Kelly Cassidy
49th Ward Democratic Committeeperson

David Kogan
President, Democratic Party of the 49th Ward